Welcome to the Chen Group



 Research Team

 Research Projects


 Lab Pictures



 Group Alumni


 Chemistry Dept


Stats Counter
Web Stats
number of visitors since August 20, 2010.

tumblr hit tracking tool


Latest News

Prof. Chen is listed as a Highly Cited Researcher for 2018 by Clarivate Analytics

Kiana Coleman, an undergraduate assistant is featured on the department's Undergraduate Student Spotlight.

Yi Peng received the Chancellor's Dissertation Year Fellowship.

Carolina Wahl received the Undergarduate Research in Science and Technology Award from UCSC. Last year, Wanzhang Pan was also selected as an awardee.

Yi Peng received the ECS Joseph W. Richrds Summer Fellowship for 2018.

Yi Peng received an Honorable Mention of the 2018 IPMI Student Awards.

Bingzhang Lu won the 2018 John and Grace Wang Award in Physical Chemistry.

Check out Yi's work on carbon nitride-graphene oxide nanocomposites embedded with ruthenium ions for HER electrocatalysis that is highlighted by a UCSC Press Release and ChemEurope.

John Diniz was selected to receive a 2017 Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Science Graduate Student Research Award to support his research at SLAC.

Limei Chen was selected as an honorable mention recipient of the 2017 ECS Cubicciotti Award competition. This is the second time a student in the Chen lab received such an honor. In 2012, Xiongwu Kang also received an honorable mention.

Yi Peng won a 2017-2018 STEM Chateaubriand Fellowship. He will spend 4 months in Paris working in Professor Pierre Millet's laboratory in Universite Paris-Sud 11.

Yi Peng won the 2017 John and Grace Wang Award in Physical Chemistry.

Forrest Nichols won the 2017 Koret Scholarship.

Double happiness in 2016: Limei Chen was awarded a Chancellor's Dissertation Year Fellowship and Lewis Bonny was selected to receive the Tony Fink Memorial Student Award for his outstanding research achievements.

Peiguang just won the 2015 Gemini Industries Graduate Student Award by the International Precious Metals Institute (IPMI). This is the second time a Chen student won a student award from IPMI. In 2006, a former student, Sulolit Pradhan, also won a student award. Congrats!

The Chen group welcomes dedicated students (undergraduate and graduate) with a strong interest in materials/phsyical chemistry to join our research efforts in the design and preparation of new functional nanomaterials. Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions.

From time to time, the Chen group accepts applications for postdoctoral or visiting scholar appointments. The minimium requirements include

(a) strong background in nanomaterials chemistry (synthesis and functionalization);
(b) solid background in electrochemistry;
(c) proficiency in spectroscopic tools;
(d) satisfactory English skills (in particular, writing skills)

Interested candidates should contact Dr. Shaowei Chen directly.

Group Get-together 2018

Group Get-together 2017

Group Get-together 2016

Group BBQ, Summer 2015

Group Get-together 2015

Here is the highlight of the party, Little Teapot by Mauricio!
Group Get-together 2014

Group BBQ 2012

(c)2007 Shaowei Chen. All rights reserved.